What We Ate 1

Bora Bora Fireballs with Roasted Cauliflower Rice, Tropical Slaw and Sunshine Sauce

These coconut rolled pork meatballs were delicious albeit time consuming (maybe make ahead and freeze?) And the best part? My 22 month old devoured them. He had a full serving himself! The sunshine sauce made with sunflower butter (not almond butter) is the absolute best and I made a double batch so I could keep some in the fridge for dipping purposes. My husband liked the tropical slaw (and he hates salads, salad dressings, vinegar and slaw) so this recipe is a keeper for sure. I wasn’t a fan of the coconut in the salad but that could be because I used the same shredded coconut instead of the recommended coconut flakes. We also both agreed the dressing could use more sesame oil and the slaw could use more almonds.

Coconut Shrimp with Coconut Ginger Cauliflower Rice and Tropical Slaw

By far my favorite new dish this week. My oven temperature gauges broke so I ended up frying these shrimp in coconut oil on the stovetop and that was just fine. The tropical slaw held up great overnight, but because of the broken oven issue I switched the cauliflower rice to a stovetop rice cooked in coconut milk instead. Unfortunately, my husband was not a fan of this rice as much as the roasted rice.

3. Crockpot BBQ Ribs (from Juli Bauer’s cookbook) with Cauliflower Mash

… and coleslaw and asparagus fries. I got a little ambitious with the sides this night because I had a serious overload of cabbage (two whole heads for two people? yikes) and we had a bunch of asparagus stalks that were going to go bad. Unfortunately these ribs did not turn out like I had hoped. My guess is it’s all about finding the right BBQ sauce so we will keep trying! LOVE ribs.

4. Oven Baked Chicken Wings with Fries (No Picture)

On Thursday we had a bunch of family over (read: 12 people) to enjoy waaaaay too many chicken wings and so I couldn’t snap a picture. We used Frank’s Red Hot (all awesome ingredients) as well as a Cajun Hot (Franks + Cajun seasoning I mixed up) and a Thai Chili Sweet Sauce that I made using honey, vinegar, chilies, and ginger.

5. Ground Beef Taco Salad Bowls

What’s there to say about this one? Simple and delicious. You really can dump just about anything in one of these so that’s exactly what I did. My husband had his with corn tortillas and he was not impressed. We are big into marinated street tacos so I think the ground beef just didn’t stack up to what we normally enjoy.

6. Creamy Sun Dried Tomato Chicken with Zoodles

This was rich-salty-savory-creamy deliciousness on a plate. I wanted to lick the sauce up with my fingers. We are team white rice, team corn tortillas, and team dairy on occasion in our house and I splurged for some organic heavy cream from pasture-raised cows that I used in this recipe and plan to use for a cheesy zucchini gratin next week. I love my cheese and probably won’t ever make a permanent split.

7. Crockpot Sesame Chicken with Rice and Broccoli

We wrapped up the weekend with a tried-and-true recipe that we’ve made a few times before. What I love is that it only takes about 15 minutes to prep and fry and then you get to leave it for 3 hours! I adjusted the recipe slightly to use only honey and no coconut sugar and I also add broccoli in the last 30 minutes to cook in the sauce. I want to adapt this recipe for orange chicken, mongolian beef, and my husband’s favorite takeout dish called “Twins Pork” (pork, bacon, broccoli, carrots, sliced jalapenos in a sticky-sweet secret sauce)

wwa-week1

 

Leave a Reply

