Snacks

I recently saw a sponsored post on my Facebook account toting oatmeal cookies as a “perfect” afterschool snack and it really irritated me… enough to write a blog post… possibly more than it should have.

IMG_2359.PNGI love cookies. I bake cookies. I share cookies with my toddler. But to me, cookies are a treat. Not something we eat every day. Certainly not something we eat every day after school and definitely not something I categorize as a “snack”. So, to rebut this post I thought I would share some of the things I snack on and my toddler snacks on as well…

  1. Curried Cashews
  2. Banana Almond Butter Muffins
  3. Carrot Pineapple Muffins
  4. Pickles
  5. Olives
  6. Cheese
  7. Yogurt Bites
  8. Cauliflower Tater Tots
  9. Snap Pea crisps
  10. Popcorn
  11. Blueberries
  12. Strawberries
  13. Apples
  14. Cuties
  15. Almond/Rice Crackers
  16. Butternut Squash Noodles
  17. Mini Meatballs
  18. Grape Tomatoes
  19. Applesauce Pouches
  20. Cheddar-Pecan Crisps

So there! Can advertisers and money-makers please stop advertising “snacks” to children that really shouldn’t be snacks at all? Let’s save yummy oatmeal-chocolate chip cookies for occasional treats rather than daily routines.

Leave a Reply

